THE THINGS THE SEVEN HILLS OF KAMPALA WITNESS

By Aidah Agwang

The Things the Seven Hills of Kampala Witness – an extract

It was not always like this. She flashed back to the day they met. After University, Stephanie had found a job as a teller at Standard Chartered Bank on Acacia Mall. Stephanie had been working at her new teller job for a month when James Wetaka walked in. Suddenly there was a furor of activity. The branch Manager walked up to James, exchanged pleasantries and asked if they could handle his transactions for him. It was then that James looked directly at her and asked that she serve him…

She smiled to herself… There was only one problem, aside from the forehead kisses and hugs, James had never made any further move on Stephanie. This puzzled Stephanie. Whenever she would bring it up, he would laugh it off and tell her he wanted their first time to be special. In the beginning, Stephanie found it endearing but with time she grew frustrated and hatched a plan. They had a getaway

After University, Stephanie had found a job as a teller at Standard Chartered Bank on Acacia Mall. Stephanie had been working at her new teller job for a month when James Wetaka walked in. Suddenly there was a furor of activity. The branch Manager walked up to James, exchanged pleasantries and asked if they could handle his transactions for him. It was then that James looked directly at her and asked that she serve him. Even though Stephanie was just a teller and James’s transaction was a bulk transaction he was too valuable of a customer and so Stephanie was sent to serve him. In the privacy of the VIP lounge of the bank, James had struck up an easy conversation with Stephanie asking her about her job and herself. Being an older, sophisticated business man, James managed to get Stephanie to agree to coffee with him that evening. Flattered by the attention from the noticeably powerful James, Stephanie felt butterflies in her stomach. After the transaction Stephanie hurried back to her desk. She quickly logged into the banking system and checked James’s bank account the figure left her speechless. Having grown up in a modest home, Stephanie knew a life time opportunity when she saw one. Having gone through the upheavals of dating of campus boys, she was done with games and wanted to settle down. She has not seen a wedding band on James’ finger and figured that was a good start.

That afternoon, she faked a stomachache and left work early. She had earlier called Terah and asked for her bodycon-Herve leger dress in maroon. She jumped on a Bodaboda, picked up the dress and dashed home. She quickly took a shower, sat down and applied makeup. She pulled out the expensive dress and out fell a silver clutch that Terah had generously added to the dress. ‘’Bless her heart!’’ said Stephanie out loud as she slipped into the body hugging, knee length dress. She pushed her feet into silver stilettos and headed for her coffee date with James at the Serena Hotel. Once she got to the Serena the door man had her name and took her to a private dining room where James waited. She later learned that he had spent a huge amount of money to hire out the private dining room for just the two of them. He looked dashing in a crisp white button down shirt which was open at the neck, blue jeans, a checkered jacket and loafers. He stood up and pulled out her chair for her. As they made their orders, James was overly attentive as her complimented her dress, hair and shoes. Stephanie was in heaven; she was in love. After an evening of laughter and great conversation, James dropped Stephanie home and gave her a chaste kiss on the forehead before driving off. Disappointed she walked into the house. As she was getting ready for bed, she heard her WhatsApp message tone. It was James wishing her a good night, telling her how much fun he had and asking her out to dinner that weekend. She smiled to herself and said yes, life after that was filled with dinners, dates, trips, shopping sprees and everything a girl could ask for. James and Stephanie became inseparable and after three months, Stephanie introduced James to her mother. Her family was elated.

There was only one problem, aside from the forehead kisses and hugs, James had never made any further move on Stephanie. This puzzled Stephanie. Whenever she would bring it up, he would laugh it off and tell her he wanted their first time to be special. In the beginning, Stephanie found it endearing but with time she grew frustrated and hatched a plan. They had a getaway trip planned to the Serena Lake Victoria Hotel and she knew this was the best time to carry out her plan. Once they got the hotel, James took out his laptop, settled on the balcony and within minutes he was lost in his world of work. Stephanie went to the bathroom, stripped out of her clothes and took a bath. A few minutes later, James heard Stephanie scream from the bathroom, panicked he dropped his laptop on the table and ran into the bathroom. He found a naked Stephanie dripping and rubbing her eyes furiously.

“What is the matter, Honey?” he asked as her and she clung onto him.

“I got soap into my eyes,” she said.

James laughed out loud and held Stephanie tightly. Soon his laughter subsided; he became conscious of the naked, soft and yielding body of Stephanie, pressed deliciously into him. She looked into his eyes and his body stirred. He made to push her away but she clung onto him, taking advantage of his hesitation Stephanie kissed James hungrily on the lips. She poured all her love, the frustration of waiting and her desire for him in that one kiss. James responded with an equal measure of passion as he kissed Stephanie and carried her to the bed. Lowering her on the bed, he asked “Is this what you want? If we do this, there is no going back.’’ Nalubaale Review Short Stories

Aidah Agwang is a Ugandan Writer and Accountant. Her short story, The Things the Seven Hills of Kampala Witness was published in the maiden issue of The Nalubaale Review Literary Magazine which you can read by clicking on this link https://nalubaalereview.wordpress.com/…/here-is-the-first-…/

 

You can also submit your travel short stories, poems and essays to be published in our coming issue themed TRAVEL. Send your submission to nalubaalereview@gmail.com.

 

Read more here: https://nalubaalereview.wordpress.com/2019/02/16/here-is-the-first-issue-of-the-nalubaale-review-literary-magazine/

 

Photo credit: https://echwaluphotography.wordpress.com

Advertisements

A WASTE OF SIN

By Daniel Many

A waste of sin

Small, small money steal not,

If you must steal then steal huge amount,

So that when you are taken before the court,

You can bail yourself out.

Petty, Petty lies do not tell,

If you must lie then tell gigantic lies,

So that when you find yourself in hell,

It will not come as a surprise.

Underage girls leave alone,

If you must rape then go for mature asses,

Why leave huge chunks of meat and go for a dry bone?

Give the devil a good reason to give you lashes.

A few people do not kill,

It is pointless to give the devil a flirter,

If you must kill, then a Million people is a better deal,

Justify why you will be charged for murder.

 What a waste of sin will it be,

To burn eternally in hell fire,

For committing half-baked sins?

 

 

Daniel Many is a Kenyan poet from the Nyanza Region in Kenya, his poems were published in the first issue Of The Nalubaale Review Literary Magazine.

Read his other poems and short stories about love and money by following this link https://nalubaalereview.wordpress.com/…/here-is-the-first-…/

 

You can also submit for our next issue by sending your submission to nalubaalereview@gmail.com.

 

 

 

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS FOR OUR NEXT ISSUE

 15TH JUNE 2019 : New Deadline

The Nalubaale Review Literary Magazine calls short stories, poems, essays, journals, PICTURES for our next issue.

We would like you to share your travel experiences and stories. The theme for the next issue is TRAVEL and we are super excited about it.

We call upon submissions from all over the African continent and Africans all over the world. In our previous issue, we had submissions from over five African countries from all regions of Africa. We want to triple that.

You can read our previous issue here; https://nalubaalereview.wordpress.com/2019/02/16/here-is-the-first-issue-of-the-nalubaale-review-literary-magazine/

Bring that unique travel story in your culture along. Bring that excellent poem about your latest trip you took whether in the Egyptian pyramids, Namibian Desert, the Indian Ocean, Fort Jesus OR to that unique tribe/community.

 

Entries should be sent to: nalubaalereview@gmail.com

Deadline for submission is 15th JUNE 2019.

 

More guidelines here:

Submissions are open to any African citizen or African person living outside Africa

Submissions should never have been published elsewhere in part or in full

Writers can submit stories of any genre of their choice

We particularly encourage photos for this issue.

Photos should be the submitters own and s/he should have copyrights to them

Short stories should be between 1500 – 6000 words

Poems should not be more than 40 lines

Essays should be between 2000-3000 words and well cited

Writers can submit to more than one categories

Entries should be sent as DOC, DOX or PDF attachments  by email

We will not accept submission that come in the body of the email

Times New Roman 12.5 font and font size, double spaced

Writers, photographers, poets and essays should submit original work belonging to them

We do not promote or accept plagiarized work

You are welcome to enter under a pseudonym but should include your real name in the email body

By submitting a story/poem, the writer attests that it is their own original work and grants exclusive global print and digital rights to Nalubaale Review for one year, and thereafter agrees to seek permission to republish and when published elsewhere attributes first publication to Nalubaale Review.

By entering, the author agrees to permitting Nalubaale Review to include their entry in an online magazine, blog and use it in other Nalubaale Review media should it be accepted for publication.

You can read our previous issue here; https://nalubaalereview.wordpress.com/2019/02/16/here-is-the-first-issue-of-the-nalubaale-review-literary-magazine/

 

 

Submit to: nalubaalereview@gmail.com

Deadline: 15th JUNE 2019

 

 

HERE IS THE FIRST ISSUE OF THE NALUBAALE REVIEW LITERARY MAGAZINE.

Glory be to God. The first issue of the Nalubaale Review Literary Magazine based in Uganda is here. This first issue, themed ‘The Love-Money Question’ is out. Congratulations and special thanks to our writers, poets and essayists.

Read our first issue here: THE NALUBAALE REVIEW ISSUE ONE

We have published stories and poems from all regions of Africa. The issue will not let you down. Delve in and read what these seasoned writers from across the African continent have to say about the Love-Money Question that has built, broken, rebuilt relationships and love across this new generation.

Read it here: THE NALUBAALE REVIEW ISSUE ONE

We also feature a guest writer, poet and Architect Ronald Sssekajja from Uganda talking about his writing journey.Ronald is a performance poet in Uganda, writer of the poetry anthology ” Echoes of Tired Men” and he talks about his forthcoming books.

Read too about our next issue, the theme and guidelines for submission and don’t miss exciting publishing opportunity herein. THE NALUBAALE REVIEW ISSUE ONE

We hope you enjoy this issue and subscribed to our coming issue here. For now enjoy these exciting, intriguing and captivating story and share. Follow The Nalubaale Review Magazine on Facebook here: https://web.facebook.com/nalubaalereview/?modal=admin_todo_tour

Congratulations Nalubaale Review Literary Magazine.

Thank you all.

Read Africa Read.

 

What is the theme all about? “The love-money Question”

Love and money Question.

Do you want a story just about money? Or about love only? Do you want a story set in a bank? or one along Romeo and Juliet plot line? Can I write about food instead?

Those are just some of the questions we have been receiving about the theme of our recent Call for Submissions. To be frank, when I set out with this theme, I had “how money influences love” in view of what the story would look like. Whether the influence is for better or for worse or even reversed (love influencing money). Done.  But, ever since I talked to my writer friends, since I sent out the call for submissions, and spread word fellow writers, and so forth, the theme has since taken on a path of its own. And there are still questions hence this blog, geared at trying to dissect the theme.

Now, without further ado, without mincing words, or beating about the bush, allow me, ladies and gentlemen to dissect the theme for you, in this email ( that I wrote to a friend) extract. Enjoy;

“Love-money stories can be of any angle, such as; a love story gone bad because of money, like a chic hooks a Musummer only to find out he’s from South Sudan not Dubai as she expected, a man who is so rich but also too impotent, a tale about love only e.g. a slum version of Romeo and Juliet,  how about these Boda-boda – school girl romances (are they love based or money based or sheer immorality, how about we denounce them?), also how about those women in mansions married to rich men but chilling in Shamba Boys’ quarters, how about the rich men stuck with campus girls or waitresses, etc. Does money affect love? Does love affect money (when you love what you do you get the money, or those people who are so in love with their work they forget the love of their lives), how about the pastors who keep sleeping with their flock/women then dump them, or the men who get introduced more than once, or the young black girls who go in for old rich white men, or young black boys(with dreads) that white women (young and old) fall for, how about the people who marry for money. Does money constitute the success or otherwise of affairs? Is it purely love that counts or should money matter? Is money alone enough? By the way, is the Donald-Ivanka thingie a love or money thingie? How about the people who marry for money (slay queens), then people’s love for politics because of the money they anticipate once successful? What is money, is it the mansions, Prados and millions in banks or can I date a poor guy who looks rich? Like this guy here. Also, what is the African love story like? Kwegamba, there are so many engagements, and an equal number of break ups around the money-love issue. That’s why Mama Tendo Foundation page on Facebook is so popular. ”
That’s part of the email conversation I had with my friend about the theme. It should not limit the writer. I will feel horrible if it does. It should just be an eye opener.

That said, I hope for the stories to not be limited by the insights above. I hope for the stories to be as humorous, engaging and educating as possible. Stories that will make for debate around the Love-money issue and stories with characters we will never forget because they live next door.
Also, you can tackle the topic from one angle, either love or money. All the above, I hope, give you a glimpse and understanding of the theme.

Call for submissions: The Nalubaale Review

ABOUT THE NALUBAALE REVIEW

Nalubaale Review is an online literary magazine, will be published twice a year as themed issues. Content will be poems, short stories, articles, photo essays from African writers and artists.

The magazine aims to promote African literature and culture and will showcase Literature and arts events and initiatives from across Africa. To that effect, the magazine will have stories about happenings in the literary scene in Africa.

Our first issue themed the love and money question seeks your stories, poems, articles and photo essays. Submissions should be sent to nalubaalereview@gmail.com. Deadline for submission is 30th September 2018.

Guidelines for submissions:

  1. Submissions from any African citizen or African person living outside Africa  are accepted
  2. Submissions should never have been published elsewhere in part or in full.
  3. Submissions published during or after submission will be disqualified.
  4. Writers should submit stories of any fiction genre
  5. Short stories should be between 2000 and 3000 words in length
  6. Poems must be no longer than 30 lines.
  7. Entries should be sent as attachments in Doc, Docx or PDF formats
  8. Type your document, using stipulated format is Times New Roman or any other readable font and font size 12.5 double-spaced.
  9. Put an accurate word count at the top right, number your pages and left-justify your paragraphs.
  10. Photo stories about the theme of love-money question are also welcome as long the photos are writers’ the own
  11. The submitted work should be the work of a single individual.
  12. Stories must be in English. If words from other languages are incorporated, the story must be able to be understood fully by their English content.
  13. You are welcome to enter under a pseudonym but should include your real name in the email body.
  14. Translated entries are welcome as long as the original story is the writer’s own work or has rights to it.
  15. Writers should submit their bio of not more than 200 words in the body of the email.
  16. All entries will be judged anonymously. Please do not put your name or any other identifying details anywhere on your entry.
  17. Your name and brief bio should be written in the body of the email.
  18. By submitting a story/poem, the writer attests that it is their own original work and grants exclusive global print and digital rights to Nalubaale Review for one year, and thereafter agrees to seek permission to republish and when published elsewhere attributes first publication to Nalubaale Review.
  19. By entering, the author agrees to allowing Nalubaale Review to include their entry in an online magazine, blog and other Nalubaale Review media should it be selected by the editors.
  20. Further enquiries should be sent to nalubaalereview@gmail.com.
  21. All entries must be sent by 30th September 2018.

The Journey Begins

Thanks for joining me!

Nalubaale Review is a literary magazine published and based in Uganda. It aims “to create unending voices by publishing the finest emerging writers in Uganda and beyond. We intend to publish unique stories from Uganda and other parts of Africa. The magazine will have different themes per issue and we are starting with love. We hope to one day become one of the most successful literary magazines in and out of Africa. All works gathered will be published online in our first issue set to come out in September 2018.

The magazine will come out twice a year.It will also cover literary events, initiatives and projects in Africa and beyond. Also focus will be given to culture, travel and the creative spheres that be! Welcome aboard.

Good company in a journey makes the way seem shorter. — Izaak Walton

post